Running for the hills!

Getting out of bed this morning was a damn struggle.

It’s been a rough week. I’m having to move dorms again today, on top of starting a new job and trying to apply for scholarships, plus it’s christmas and the silly season is being mighty silly. My anxiety levels have picked up a bit and aint that just delightful.

So I woke up at 5.30am and felt like crap. Just sleep till 8 I thought. But I had promised myself I’d go to the gym and run that morning. I’d skipped two days already and had been eating poorly and just wasn’t feeling good about myself. Still, getting up was hard. I arrived at the gym at six, still feeling crummy. It was hard to get going and I thought about bailing early.

Then about halfway through my run, something switched and I started feeling good. This old song I used to listen to in high school to get psyched up came on my playlist and I guess I just hit my stride. or maybe that’s the fabled “runners high”. Either way, running felt really good. Like, really good. The anxiety lifted for a moment and life seemed quite manageable. I ran 3km then beat the shit out of the punching bag in the corner. And now I feel awesome.

There’s not much point to this post except as a personal reminder: in times of feeling shitty, go for a run. It may seem like the last thing you want to do but seriously, just do it. You’ll be glad later.

Leave a Reply

