Creative Life Tip

Always have a hard and soft copy of any idea or important document that might end up being significant. Ideally, have one hard copy and at least two soft copies at all times. And keep past drafts that have been re-worked. You may wish to invest in some binders, a good printer, an external hard drive and some serious organisational and filing skills. It’s an investment worth making, because otherwise you’ll experience the creative nightmare that is a good idea getting away.

There’s no way to say this without it sounding like I’m bragging, so I’m just going to say it. I’m writing a musical. There. Raise your eyebrow of mild disbelief and condescension, I know this idea will probably crash and burn before I get the chance to pitch it, let alone stage it, but for the first time in ages it was a project I was excited about.

My method for song writing is to vaguely think about it while doing other things, then keep thinking about it while going to sleep, then wake up in the middle of the night and scramble for paper and a pen before the idea gets away. This has worked for me for a while, but recently I inherited my brothers old smart phone and the whole system changed. I could save word documents in my phone! Huzzah! The days of frantic scrambling and blinking madly as I turn on the light and hunt for the pen that’s never there were over! I could just roll over, type my idea into my phone, and got back to sleep. No stress, no fuss.

I had the lyrics to about 90% of a first draft musical saved onto my phone. They’ve been accumulating for about a month and a half now, and yesterday I decided to transfer everything on my phone onto my computer. I plugged in and saw there was an update available. Goodie! Install that good sir and we’ll be on our way.

But the update would not install. Nooooo instead it crashed my phone which in a blind panic I disconnected from my computer without even thinking about it. My phone won’t turn on and it keeps buzzing. My tech savvy brother said to plug it in and pray. I’ve tried all the re-set suggestions on google and diddly squat. I didn’t even think about losing my data until five minutes ago when I sat down to work on my musical and had one of those fuuuuuuuuuuuuuck moments that make nothing beautiful and everything hurt.

So now I’m trying desperately to resurrect my phone. Any suggestions are welcome. And remember kiddies- always, always ALWAYS make copies.

Leave a Reply

