I’m procrastinating while I write this

I’m attempting to write a sociology essay in 750 words and finding it immensely difficult, so while I procrastinate from doing it, though I’d have a lil chat with you guys about word counts!

One thing I really wish they’d done in high school was impress the importance of word counts. But more then that, explained WHY writing to a limited word count was so necessary. When I was in year eleven, I handed in a forty page long essay for English, an utter monster of a thing that must have been a headache for my teacher to mark. Now, three years later at university, there is no way in hell I could get away with something like that. No one would mark it. I’d lose marks automatically for it being so ridiculously long winded and unnecessary so.

As I aspire to become a writer, I think the most important thing I’ve learn so far at university, which I wish I had been told back in high school, is to make every word count. If someone has to sift through forty pages of stuff to understand my point, then I feel as though that’s a failure in itself. Incidentally, that 40 page essay scored me an A, but that’s not the point. The point is that I should be able to get the same point across in a paragraph, in a single page, in a 750 word discussion, and still get an A. Anyone can babble on for ages and eventually get their point across, but real skill is being able to do so with a minimal degree of fucking around.

So even though this essay is driving me crazy as I struggle, It’s one of those things that if it doesn’t kill me, it will, in some way, make me stronger.

I just wish I could have learnt this years ago.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

