People in customer service deserve some fucking respect

Fun fact: I work in customer service. I am the service bitch. I work in a giant department store, on both the service desk and on the check out.

And yes, this is the job that I hate.

Working on a check-out is great in the aspect that I really feel as though I can’t sink any lower then this. Like this is rock bottom on the scale of where I see myself in the world of employment.

Because as well as being repetitive, boring, long, and frustrating, it’s also entirely pointless. I literally stand there, and wave a laser at a pile of shit, then shove that shit in a bag, then they pay for the shit, then repeat times 100. I do this for between three and eight hours at a time. And I’m expected to smile and be cheery while I’m at it.

And I do. Why else do you think I come home and bitch about it on my blog? Because at work, there is no outlet.

And sometimes, customers take it upon themselves to argue with you over stuff you have literally no control over, like prices, or queues, or store policies. And when they don’t get their way they dump all their shit on my register and walk away.

Since the invention of self-serve check outs, I now have the ultimate come back line when someone criticises me or criticises the store by saying “well, you do have the option of serving yourself.”

People seem to hate the self serve. One of the excuses I hear from customers who refuse to use the self serve check-outs is “I want to give someone a job”. As in, continuing to go through the registers is giving some stupid teenager like me, work to do.

This is crap for three reasons. Number one, people always say this like they are such a good Samaritan and we should be extremely grateful. Number two, the self serve check out creates jobs which have an actual skill base, e.g. maintaining the machines, and also frees up more staff to be doing work around the store that fulfils a greater purpose then aiming a laser and shooting. And number three, working at a check-out sucks.

Like I said, for me, it’s the lowest point I ever want to hit in terms of employment.

I much prefer washing dishes, taking out garbage, cleaning up, stacking shelves, to being the check out girl. I simply lack the temperament. I haven’t the personality to deal with large numbers of people over a short space of time. When I applied for the job, I assumed I would be shelf stacker. Somehow, the interviewer took one look at my crabby, cynical personality that sucks at small talk and decided that customer service was definitely the way to go.

See, you’d think being forced to smile at people for four hours straight would make you warm up to them more. But it doesn’t. It in fact, makes me want to kill them.

Working in customer service sucks. Therefore, please don’t be one of the customers who decides to take it upon themselves to act like a massive douchebag just because they can. You think you’re the only person I have to deal with today? You think you’d be too happy after hours and hours of doing the same thing over and over again?

I doubt it. So don’t do it. Treat people in customer service with a little bit of respect.

Or fuck off.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “People in customer service deserve some fucking respect

  1. I totally feel for people working in the customer service industry. Customers can be downright rude.

    – K.

Leave a Reply

