some updates

I decided at the start of the year to attempt to blog more often and blog better, as a way of improving both my writing and hopfully myself. What has come in between myself and this endeavor, you may ask? No, it’s not laziness. Shockingly enough. It’s the fact that my computer screen has, at last, taken it’s last breath and died. I am typing blind. I saw this coming months ago and was holding onto hope that it would hold out till the end of the year. It hasn’t.

My intention always was to buy a new computer before starting university anyway, so it’s not a huge problem in that regard. What is a problem is that I’m currently living in Europe, and will be returning home to Australia in August. What this means is I have to choose. Be effectively without a computer for the next four months, or buy one while I’m over here and have to use a converter plug for the next five or six years of my life. I reckon I could live without a computer, but it’s annoying and it’s inconvenient. It’s mainly losing internet access that would worry me. Almost everything I do – looking at timetables, booking tickets, organising things, staying in touch with home- I do via the net. I’m not sure how I’d get by without it. Plus, I’m eighteen. The internet is my second home.
I’m getting by by poiting a torch at my computer screen and typeing with one hand. It’s very slow going. Not sure how long that is going to last.

The running experiment. I promised I’d keep you updated and I am. Here’s the first update.
I’ve fallen over at the first hurdle.
Again, it’s not laziness. No really, it’s not. I went running alright. It nearly killed me, but I did it. When i got home, I got an angry email from my mother:

GEORGIE! WHY ARE YOURUNNING? YOU HAVE A WEAK KNEE REMEMBER! DON’T DO IT! TRY SOMETHING ELSE IF YOU MUST!

Oh yeah. That.
I don’t think i’ve ever mentioned my shitty knees to you. I’m like an old woman. My knees are really shite. Like, really shite. I’ve sprained the ligaments in one knee, tore them in the other, and dislocated my right knee cap three times.
It’s been over a year since the last major incident, but the fact still stands. I’m not really cut out to be a runner.
I still want to improve my fitness though, so I’ve been taking lots of long walks to try make up for it. I’ve transformed my five minute walk to the bus to a half hour hike to the bus, so that’s something. Part of me is still determined to become a runner one day, but I think I need to look into this a bit more first.

And the hair experiment. The month is up, how did I do?

Well, i have to confess. About a week ago I gave in and washed my hair. I couldn’t stand it anymore. it just felt so dirty and gross, and no amount of rinsing and combing and brushing would help. It’s disgusting, but my hair actually felt like a helmet. I’ve mentioned already how it looked fine and it did, but I could see it was starting to look a bit worse for the wear. The ends were desriously drying out, the roots were greasy and the whole thing just had no gloss, no body to it. It really just looked like a small animal had died on my head and I couldn’t put up with it any longer. Not washing your hair does not work.

HOWEVER

The experiment was not for nothing. There has been some seriously good outcomes from not washing my hair for four weeks.

I used to wash my hair every day. I felt like I had to, or the next day it would be greasy and disgusting.
Now, I’m down to twice a week, and I swear my hair looks stronger, shinier, softer and just better then it did before the experiment started.  The natural oils in my hair couldn’t settle down completely, but they have settled down a lot after I screwed them up so badly.

So even though the experiment didn’t acheive the desired results exactly, it has definately been sucessful to a point. Hooray for that.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

