18

In 9 days I will be joining a very large percentage of the worlds population in a fascinating concept called:

Adulthood.

Gosh it’s a bizarre thing to be wrapping my head around.

It really shouldn’t be, because lets face it, quite a lot of people have done this before me and they seemed to turn out alright.

But the way I see it, in my lifetime, i’ve only ever known what it’s like to be a child, and a teenager.

And now it’s time for something completely different.

In nine days, that slight change of number will not just mean “woo hoo I’m a year older” as it has done in previous years. This time, that change from 17 to 18 means suddenly the world considers me to be grown up. All of a sudden, it’s within my legal right to drink, to gamble, to vote, to get tattoos and piercings, to be tried as an adult in court. In short, to have full responsibility over myself and my actions for the first time in my life.

And that’s a bit weird.

Like most birthdays that have come and gone in the past, I’m not expecting there to be any noticeable change. I’ll still look the same, probably still act the same, think the same, feel the same things as I did at the age of 17. Just my status as a human being will have changed.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

