Shoo fly, don’t tell me to cheer up.

There is a fly buzzing around your head. You’ve tried to ignore it, but the damn things is just so annoying.

“Buzz off fly.”

But then, the fly says,

“No.”

“Go away, you’re annoying me!”

“Well don’t let it be annoying.”

I HAVE A PET HATE I WOULD LIKE YOU SHARE WITH YOU.

People who tell you to not feel what you’re feeling.

As if you are CHOOSING to feel that way. As if you can just flick it on and off like a fucking light-switch.

Sorry, but it just don’t work that way.

“Hey, don’t be angry just calm down!”

OH. OKAY THEN. NO WORRIES.

“Don’t be so stressed out.”

GEE REALLY? THAT’S GOOD ADVICE! IF ONLY I KNEW IT WAS THAT SIMPLE.

“I’m not annoying you, don’t be irritated.”

WOOPS, MY MISTAKE. YOU HOVERING OVER MY SHOULDER TELLING ME WHAT TO DO ISN’T IRRITATING AT ALL. INVADING MY PERSONAL BUBBLE IS JUST FINE! WHY ON EARTH WOULD I POSSIBLY BE THINKING OTHERWISE???

How you react to a situation is NOT SOMETHING YOU CAN CONTROL. I’m sure there’s some mind trickery you can do to help but for fucks sake. I’m not a robot. If I’m irritated, you telling me to not be irritated is not going to help. In fact, it’s just going to make me want to throttle you.

So little fly, go fuck off and die.

The absolute worst of all however, is when people tell you to “cheer up”. If you’re upset, the last thing i want you to tell me if to just cheer up, just don’t feel sad about whatever horrible thing has happened. Just get the fuck over it.

Because even if I could, i wouldn’t want to. You move on in your own time, no one can just “cheer up” and be okay.

IT SHOULD BE OKAY TO FEEL YOUR FEELINGS WITHOUT SOMEONE TELLING YOU NOT TO. Because those people are the absolute worst.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

