Humble pie

I would like to formally apologize to Rebecca Black.

Her, and every artist i’ve ever mocked, or called crap, or labeled their work as “garbage”.

Because after the day i’ve had, I’m realizing now that this is not only not nice, but also quite rude, shallow, and not really considering the bigger picture.

So RB, Justin Beiber, Miley Cyrus, and all the many many others, i’m sorry.

Here’s the story.

This morning I woke up and thought, “It’s Friday.”

This was closely followed by, “It’s Friday!!!”

And with that the plan was hatched to record a cover of that viral web video, ‘Friday’, by Rebecca Black.

I spent probably four solid hours working on this, composing, recording and editing as I went. And it was fun. The more I got into it and started paying around, changing tempos, playing with arrangements, working out five part harmonies and utilizing any kitchen equipment on hand, the more I liked it.

What I ended up with I was quite proud of.

It felt like the effort had been put in, and a quirky, interesting ad hopefully entertaining cover had been produced.

Proud as punch, I put my masterpiece on Youtube.

And quickly regretted it.

Much like the original before me, the reception was… less then warm.

“Its garbage.Your very off key and you suck at editing.”
“What the f**k is that?”
“garbage”

I know how this sounds, but it was really unexpected. It was like a slap in the face; i’d worked quite hard on producing this cover and I was really pleased with how it turned out. Why were people reacting this way?

And then I realized.

How many times in the past had I done exactly the same thing? Used the anonymity of the internet to slag off any song, any book, any blog, any thing that I considered to be no good.

But if you think about it, that song, that book, that blog, whatever it is, it had to come from somewhere. Someone, some living, breathing, thinking and feeling person or people out there have taken the time to put this piece of art together. They’ve put their time, their effort, their commitment, their money even, into these projects and put them out there into the world, with the goal of entertaining people.

You know what they say, if you want to make money, don’t be an artist. Those who get rich off their art are the exception, not the rule.

Most of the time, i like to believe anyway, people who put the time and the effort into creating something, are doing it because they want to. Because they have that desire to perform, or to share an idea or concept, and the goal is for people to take it for what it is and hopefully enjoy it.

So taking that work, they effort, that intention and reducing it to something so measly as “garbage”, that is so unnecessary.

Feedback is one thing. Petty nastiness is another entirely.

My pride has been well and truly bruised, and from this I’m hoping the lesson will stick, that in the future I won’t ride anything off as garbage. Even if it doesn’t appeal to me, it’s still someone’s work and effort. If it’s really that bad, i can always just ignore it.

We can leave the garbage out of it.

 

Leave a Reply

